HistoryThe lush rolling hills and picturesque views that are enjoyed at Applebrook Golf Club was land formerly known as "Applebrook Farm". Robert Williams originally owned this fertile farmland, located just outside the Historic village of Goshenville. He was the first settler in Goshen. The land was deeded to Williams in 1680 from William Penn and it is one of the earliest Penn Land Grants in Chester County. The original Williams’ homestead, circa 1702 still remains on East Boot Road and is currently owned by Shirley Fox since 1971. In 1715 the farm was acquired by Samuel Garrett. The Garrett family retained ownership of the land until 1900. A fieldstone house built by Garrett descendants has been renovated to serve as a meeting place for the Chester County Chamber of Business and Industry. The dairy barn has also been renovated and is being used as the Greens Maintenance Facility. The East Goshen Historic Commission believes the name Applebrook originated from Samuel Horner who purchased the property in 1913.
The Village of Goshenville (founded 1704) listed in the National Register of Historic Places, played a role in the Revolutionary War. On the 16th and 17th of September 1777, the Supreme Commander of all British Forces in North America, General William Howe with Generals Lord Cornwallis and James Grant, having defeated the Continental Army at the Battle of Brandywine, did march with a force of 13,000 soldiers north up Goshen Road (Rte. 352) to the Goshen Friends Meeting. General Cornwallis and his troops encamped in Goshenville, just north of the schoolhouse. While encamped a skirmish ensued between the British and Continentals at what is now the southern end of the Hersheys Mill development. This skirmish, which resulted in twelve Americans killed along with two Hessian soldiers and at least one British soldier, became one of the three skirmishes fought that day prior to the torrential rains that became known as the Battle of the Clouds.
Over two hundred years later, Applebrook Associates was founded in June of 1999. Beginning October 8, 1999, Applebrook Associates would begin doing business as Applebrook Golf Club. Applebrook Golf Club’s first board of governors included Henry S. Belber II, Anthony A. Nichols, Hal Davis, William R. Burns, O. John Fuchs, Gary Daniels and Glen Davis. A unique mixture of developers, builders, businessmen and a Heisman trophy winner, this Board is solely responsible for conceptualizing a unique golf atmosphere.